No sound midi out

Roland007

Hello, I am a newbie here :)

I play a digital piano and like to do some recording in Reaper, but run into a setup problem. The midi output gives no sound :( I tried and checked everything I can think of with no success but I don’t know too much about recording tech…

Here’s what I have running: My piano is connected to a usb soundcard/ audio interface (an old one M audio audiophile usb) with midi in to midi out and midi out to midi in. The audiophile is connected to my windows10 pc through usb. A driver is installed but it is not updated for win10/ not available. speakers are connected to the audiophile line out - audio played on the pc does sound on these speakers. Another set of speakers is connected directly to the piano. The piano also has audio cables connected to audiophile.

When I run reaper midi in does work, I can record midi and it shows. However I can not hear it back; no sound when I play the midi recording and no output visible. I/o set to audiophile midi out. Loaded audio recordings do sound in Reaper, only not the midi. Asio also shows the audiophile in settings. Same thing in for instance synthesia: midi in is fine, midi out gives no sound.

Am I missing something here? Any help is much appreciated as I am getting frustrated after hours of trying to solve this… thx :)

Last edited:
Usb is connected for midi. What VST for sound? Make new virtual instrument track with the recognized midi controller in reaper.

As just midi, no sound is going through.

Usb is connected for midi. What VST for sound? Make new virtual instrument track with the recognized midi controller in reaper.

As just midi, no sound is going through.
It should send the midi back to my piano and sound the internal tone/instrument selected on my digital piano…

On the midi track you recorded, open the FX window and add ReaSynth, then play the track to see if it sounds.

The hardware piano's sound stops when a midi cable is inserted?