No sound from old microphone

skogsgren

Hi,

So I recently bought two old 60's Tandberg TM6's and I'm now trying to plug these into my computer but there is no sound. I have a Scarlett 2i2 interface and no matter what settings I try or how high the gain goes I get no sound except buzzing. At the highest gain the buzz is intolerable but I think I hear a faint voice if I scream right into them however that might be my brain tricking me to hear things that aren't there.
I've also tried hooking them up to a guitar amp with mic in but no sound there at all. They both have a 1/4" cable end that I connect directly into the Scarlett and then Scarlett to computer. I'll attach a picture of how they look. I'm new to microphones so I'm not sure if it is me doing something wrong or if the microphones are busted.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

unnamed.jpg

... I recently bought two old 60's Tandberg TM6's and I'm now trying to plug these into my computer but there is no sound. I have a Scarlett 2i2 interface ....
From the 2i2 user guide:

"Note the Scarlett 2i2 has no “Mic/line” switch – the Focusrite preamplifier stage is automatically configured for a microphone when you plug an XLR into the input, and for a line or instrument when you connect a jack plug."​

I'd try a 1/4" to XLR (M) adapter and see if you get a different result.

Thanks for the response!

Just returned from my nearest electronic store and plugged the mic into the adapter and the adapter to the xlr port. Tried turning the gain all the way up, made sure the xlr adapter worked but still no sound...

Any other ideas?

They're dynamic mics from what I read so they should have a measurable DC resistance. Check that with a multimeter? Odd if they both behave that way. I assume they don't work in a PA either?

Thanks for helping me!

Unfortunately I do not own a multimeter however it does say 250ohms on the side of the microphones. Since I am not a native english speaker I am unsure what PA is.