No Place To Mix!!!

Ko17

Hi, I'm a college student and cannot afford monitors at this junction in my life. I have no access to anything worth mixing/mastering on, and so my question is this...What is the best way to mix a song without proper monitors? I have done some mixing/ mastering on a home theatre setup using a flat eq in stereo mode (not any of the surround modes). The speakers are large, ported bookshelf type speakers, and I have a 10" woofer as well. Will this give me an decent mix? I have also mixed a few songs in my car via an aux input in my head unit from my comp. Will this give me decent mix? Using just headphones has not worked out well for me...

Here are some examples of songs that i mixed in my car...if you have some decent monitors i would be interested to know what they sound like...thanks

Hi, I'm a college student and cannot afford monitors at this junction in my life. I have no access to anything worth mixing/mastering on, and so my question is this...What is the best way to mix a song without proper monitors? I have done some mixing/ mastering on a home theatre setup using a flat eq in stereo mode (not any of the surround modes). The speakers are large, ported bookshelf type speakers, and I have a 10" woofer as well. Will this give me an decent mix? I have also mixed a few songs in my car via an aux input in my head unit from my comp. Will this give me decent mix? Using just headphones has not worked out well for me...

Here are some examples of songs that i mixed in my car...if you have some decent monitors i would be interested to know what they sound like...thanks
The car thing isn't working. But I can tell that you have overactive woofers and dark tweeters in your car (or you were mixing with a wool cap on).

There is no shortcut or substitute for monitoring. Any engineer, any mix, any studio is only as good as their monitoring chain. You can not tweak what you can not hear, period.