Newbie with $600-900 to spend.

funkoptimus

My band(cover band) is looking at doing some originals and we need equipment to recoord with. We are leaning towards getting a recorder/mixer unit because it all inclusive and portable and possibly doing more work with a computer inregards to mixing using Cubasis.

We just have a small line mixer so we need something that will handle the mics from the drum kit...if thats possible without a mixer.

Ideally we will record drums with the recording unit and then go home and work on the mix and add bass and guitar via a Line 6 POD. We may or maynot do the final mix on the PC/computer so having a way to link up to it would be helpful.

Im new at this and lost what is my best options.

I maybe able to scatch up $1000
Thanx!!

The 788 has a SCSI connection.

You can plug four mics into the 788. It doesn't have XLR connectors. I'm assuming the inputs are good enough for recording drums without a mixer but I don't know for sure. The thread below from the Tascam 788 forum suggests that it does. The post from LGM talks about micing a drum kit straight into the 788. You could ask there or ask in the Tascam forum on this site. I know there are a few 788 users who post there. They might know.

http://www.tascambbs.com/cgi-bin/ubbcgi/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic&f=13&t=001919&p=

Fostex VF-16 (or the newer VF-160) is perfect for you. It has double the tracks of 788 (total of 16) and double the inputs (8) of 788 of which 2 has XLR & phantom power for condenser mics. Thru the Adat interface it's much easier to transfer tracks back and forth between the VF and the computer (with an adat soundcard) 8 tracks at a time than using some outboard storage media like SCSI zip drives or SCSI hardrives.