Newbie seeking startup advice

seamus

Hi all,

I'm a total newbie to PC recording but would really like to give it a try. For starters, I would just be looking to do some stand alone bass or guitar tracks. As of now, I've not attempted any recordings yet.

Here's my equipment checklist:

1) PC: Self built, rock solid PIII 700, lots of ram, 2 fast hard drives

2) Soundcard: Aureal SQ2500, older full duplex card
Here's the specs >>> http://www.thetechzone.com/reviews/multimedia/aureal/sq2500/page2.htm

3) Recording software: N-track

4) Microphone: Cheap Labtech condenser, have no problem springing for a Shure SM-xx later on

5) Bass Amp - Carvin R1000, XLR balanced direct out with adjustable level control, pre/post switch, ground lift switch, massive EQ section, onboard compressor, and noise gate / Tech 21 Bass DI, effected XLR, effected 1/4", and unaffected 1/4" / Guitar Amp - Flextone II combo, std DI out and MIDI ports / Basses are too numerous to list here, guitar is an RG570

6) A mixer: I don't have a mixer. :( Is this an absolute must when just starting out? I want to lay down some stand alone tracks for now, at least until I get familiar with things. Later on, I have no problems springing for a reasonably priced mixer. I'm not looking to do professional grade stuff, just something passable for now. I am open to your suggestions on the mixer aspect.

7) Cables: Lots of 1/4" cables, guess I'll need a 1/8" adapter to use the soundcard I/O. Any other cables I should consider? would a 1/4 <> 1/8 cable be best? Also have the MIDI cable for the Flextone interface, I use it for editing sound patches and such.

8) Headphones: Sony V6

9) Monitor: Should I just use the cans for now?