newbie recording help please

tannerridgeway

im in a band with 1 guitar 1 vocalist and a drummer. we have an ok desktop equipped with audacity and we have pretty much learned how to record with audacity. we recorded a couple songs with a 1/8 mini jack input straight into the computer's mic input. we recorded 2 tracks: first the guitar and drums
(i know this sound really dumb, but we tried seperate tracks but we couldn't get the timing right) and then 2nd the vocals. i know we need an interface but im not really sure about what to look for...the same with mic pre-amps.
i have a phonic powerpod 620 powered mixer and i think it works as a pre-amp but again im not sure. im new with recording and im 17.
if you see how all this turned out go myspace.com/abrahamabraham and listen
tell me what you think...and what we should work on please.
i very much appreciate any help im given. thanks

Tan,

First of all, recording isn't as simple as you think :) plugging a microphone in and putting it near the instrument your wanting to record isn't going to get top quality sound unfortunately.

First off, you need to think of your way of recording your band..You have (will be) a small set up so you will be doing the tracks seperate most likely, so a good start would be drums, preferbally with headphones for the drummer with it routed through to the guitarist so he can play along without it being recorded. Then guitar, bass, and vox. That's usually my preferred way with a 4 piece band like that.

Second, the sound card.. search on this board for people who have asked exactly that.. you'll be amazed by the results you'll find. I'll start you off with suggesting searching for M Audio Audiophile 2496 and M Audio Delta 44 (or 66). These will give you a much better sound than your in built computer sound card.

What microphones are you using?

Lastly, practice practice practice :)

Good luck

And don't forget the mixer!