Newbie needs help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kidfixer

I would like to make some YouTube videos featuring my vocal ability and I want good quality audio, but I don't know where to begin on the best way to capture the performance. It doesn't have to be studio-quality sound, but better than what the condenser mic on my HD camcorder is capable of. I have backing tracks of the music in WAV format and I want to put my voice to it as I video the performance. However, I'M A TOTAL NEWB AT RECORDING, so I pretty much need to be walked through the process step-by-step.

First, I need to know how to implement the two audio elements together. I would like to use Audicity home-recording software to record live vocals to a backing track. For hardware I have an Electro Voice N/D967 dynamic handheld microphone, and I run that to a TC Helicon VoiceLive2 vocal processor. I'm not sure if I can use the VL2 as an audio interface straight to my PC (via Creative Audigy2 soundcard), or if I need to purchase additional hardware...I'm waiting to hear back from someone on the TC Helicon forum for confirmation. I also have a Tascam DR-07mkII handheld digital recorder.

The third element of the project is capturing the performance on video. I'm using a Canon HG20 HD camcorder, which has an 3.5mm MIC terminal (if that helps). Is there a way to capture the audio straight to digital video using that input, or will I need to use post-production software to marry the video with the audio?

If anyone has done this, can you please tell me what I will need and the best way to set it up. My hardware budget is $300.

Any assistance is GREATLY appreciated.

Dave

Last edited: