Newbie needs a few pointers...

rewt_

Hey guys, I'm a newbie and I could use some help...

Just got done with my first recording project, which went well for a first effort, but I found that even with compression/limiting (Waves Ultramaximizer, Digidesign Maxim, etc) I couldn't get the tracks as loud as I wanted. I've been giving it a lot of thought, trying to figure out whether it was a recording problem, mixing problem, or whether my gear just doesn't have much headroom. Like I said I'm a newbie so this is all new territory to me. I'm using the following:

Digidesign Digi 001
Pro Tools LE
Mackie Mixer (1402 VLZ-Pro)
Cheap mics (57, 58s, an AT shotgun condenser, and some Sennheiser tom mics)

You can hear the tracks at:

http://artists.mp3s.com/artists/507/rizen1.html

I'd really appreciate your opinions (even if you can't help with the volume issue). Since it's my first effort, don't expect sonic bliss lol. But I could really use some pointers or at least a "You Suck"/"You're on the Right Track" message. Anyway thanks in advance, I appreciate any help you can throw my way.

Jim
rewt@rawx.com

Yo Rewt, welcome to the board! Getting gain without overloading any component in the signal chain, causing clipping, can be tough, and it requires a preamp with a lot of clean gain, especially with dynamic mics, which have lower output than condensers. Consider a preamp with more balls than a Mackie mixer, or condenser mics, or both.
Just a word to the wise, and I'll be kind to you due to your newb status. Crossposting the same message on multiple forums is very bad form, and some if the old timers here will get their panties in a twist and attempt to rip you a new one. Don't say you weren't warned.-Richie

ah, sorry about that. i'm a tool. won't happen again.

thanks for the tips, i was planning on getting good pres and a few condensers when the budget allows for it.. is there anything i can do to compensate with the gear i have?