Newbie help hooking up a few devices

jiffy feet

Hello! I am trying to get my little system all hooked up properly, but I am a MIDI newbie, so I am not quite sure what I am doing. I am hooking up a Yamaha Motif, a Korg Electribe S, and my PC with an Audiophile 2496 sound card.

Here's how it's set up so far. The MIDI out from the PC goes into the Motif in, then Motif out to Electribe in, then the Electribe out to the PC in. Actually right now it's the Electribe thru to PC in. What's the difference between out and thru?

There are two main things I want to know how to accomplish: First I want to have the Motif and Electribe start playing at a specified time in my PC sequencer (Cubasis.) I mean that when I go to record a MIDI track in Cubasis, can I get the devices to start just as the recording starts? Those two devices are already synced.

Secondly, how can I get it so that when I do a MIDI recording where the Electribe is running and I am playing the Motif on top of it, that when I play it back the MIDI information will all be routed to the proper device? Actually, I am sure this will be corrected by some advice I will get here, but so far i haven't been able to get a MIDI recording into the PC that shows the MIDI data from both devices.

Thanks in advance!

Actually right now it's the Electribe thru to PC in. What's the difference between out and thru?

MIDI Thru is a port that sends a copy of whatever is coming into the MIDI In port. MIDI Out sends the MIDI messages originating on the device -- for example, the MIDI Out of the Motif sends the messages created by what you play on its keyboard.