Newbie amp/guitar questions

Alden_Sloe

So, I'm very new to recording. I'm not a musician but I'm having fun helping my son record some of his work. He sings and plays piano. Those I've been able to record with mics. I've also recorded acoustic guitar from mics. Now he's got an electric guitar and an amp which only serves to further reinforce the feeling that the more I learn the more I begin to understand how little I know :o

He bought a cheap amp. A Brand X which is a badge Fender puts on a line they have made in China. I know you tend to get what you pay for but since this is supposed to be a learning experience for $40 on Craigslist I figured it would be worth it for experience if nothing else. I'm of the opinion that if your first car is a beater you'll end up knowing a lot more and have a much better appreciation of a fine automobile later on in life :D

Back to the amp. The first experience was that of problems with excessive noise. I think the proper term is hum as buzz seems to refer to resonances from the guitar. But I started doing some experiments and it seems the hum isn't there when nothing is plugged into the input. Plug in a standard instrument cable and buzz. Mmm, the cable seems to be acting like an antenna :confused: It's not a balanced cable and I'm not sure what shielding a "standard" instrument cable should have. I tried two mid priced different brand of cable and same thing. I didn't have a balanced (TRS ?) cable to try but I did have a set of stereo headphones. I know, you're saying what?? this fool plugged a set of headphones into the input of a guitar amp :eek: Well, yes I did. Guess what? No hum. And if you turn the volume way up you start to get feedback; nice "clean" feedback with no hum.