New to recording..

Johnbmx26

Hey,
I've been searcing around for info on recording and I thought maybe you guys could help me a bit?
Well, I'm pretty new to recording, and I don't want to get really serious into it, but just to get a decent quality recording of myself on drums. I'm 15, so I'm trying to go with the cheapest solution possible.

For the mics, I've been looking at this CAD mic pack:
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/g=home/search/detail/base_pid/270776/

I've seen alot of cheaper mic packs and I was wondering what your opinions were on them, would I be better off getting decent used ones?

So, next is to get it to my computer, I've asked a bunch of people and I was thinking of getting an analog mixer, then connecting it to an audio interface to connect it to my computer. (found alot of used mixers for cheap)
But then I just found this Mixer with a USB output:
http://www.zzounds.com/a--2676837/item--ALEMULTIMIX8USB

I see that it only has 4 XLR inputs and 2 1/4 Inputs. Would this work if I got some kind of XLR > 1/4 converter? Any downsides to this? Loss in quality?
But, I'm still pretty unsure of how I want the recording to work. I've looked at Audio Interfaces with XLR inputs go for like $800 and that's really way too much for me.
What do you think the best solution is for me?

Also, if I did get the Alesis mixer W/ USB (above) it only has 6 inputs. Do you think this is enough?
I have a pretty standard 5 piece set up.

One person suggested getting a mixer, and recording to a minidisc and bring that to the computer?

I really have no idea, just trying to find a cheap solution, but with a decent recording. Not going to record a whole band, just myself.

And if this matters, I will be working on an Apple Ibook 1.2GHZ w/ a gig of ram, and a 250gb external hd.

Thanks
John