New to recording, need help in gear and recording process.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vargmork

Hello!

I have a one man band and I want to start recording some songs but I'm new in the recording field so I need some advices on the matter.

I own a guitar + marshall valvestate amp, a Bass guitar + amp, and a basic drum set, now I would like some advice on what gear do I need to start recording.

The style of music I play is Black Metal like Burzum, Darkthrone, Carpathian Forest etc. Second wave of norwegian black metal so to speak, so I do not need a perfect quality recording whatsoever, I want it to sound raw and primitive like I play it.

1 - I was thinking to buy either a Tascam DP-02 or a Zoom R24, what do you guys recommend the most?

2 - Can I record 1 Electric Guitar track ( mono ) using one microphone next to my amp, then use the same method to record the Bass Guitar in another track (mono) , then record the volcals in another track ( mono ), then record the drums and after this is done, can I mix and master everything together in one setero song? Using only the Zoom R24 or Tascam DP-02 for the recording - mixing - mastering process?

3 - Do I need any pre amp? or can I use the pre amp from the recorder?

4 - If this is possible, in which file format the final song would be? .wav? .mp3? Any other format?

5 - Is it possible to record drums with only 2 microphones? If yes which microphones do you think its the best for it? I own a basic drum kit with 2x tom tom , 1 snare drum, 4 cymbals , 1 bass drum , 1 floor tom. (budget for the 2 mics 300$)

6 - To record the Electric Guitar and the Bass Guitar I was thinking about the Sm57 mic, but for the vocals I have no idea which mic I would use, can you suggest some microphones for recording vocals? (budget: 150$)

Thank you for everything! All the help I can use from you would be most welcome! :)

1 - I don't know either of those but have heard of them. others can help with interface questions better.