New to Recording - Need audio Interface

Butch-1

Mr Telecaster !
I'm a vet Musician,recorded in studios a lot. But I have never recorded at Home. I want to make a Demo for my Band to get Gigs, with Cool Edit.. what is a good cheap audio Interface & do I need one to get this done ?

I think we'd need to know your budget, and also whether you are content to record in stereo (in other words, the soundcard would simply have left and right inputs) or several tracks at once (so the soundcard would have 4 to 16 inputs, at a cost of course...) - whatever you get, Cool Edit / Audition does not support "ASIO" so mention that to the salesperson when you shop.

ok i have an older PC with onboard sound, is that gong to work?
also Do you know were I can Find some Mic Simulator pulgins.
like i said I have never recorded at home But I've Been in the Studio
lots of times and I know you need The Right Mic to get the true sound of the Instrument your Recording.

PC= 633Mhz / 256RAM

You are probably going to still want to invest in a soundcard. Onboard sound is never really good, especially on older motherboards.

ok so I get a soundcard. that will be from ebay, Because I'm a poor Broke Musician.. what is a good card that is cheap ?
PS. I have an soundblaster Live Card will That work ?

what to buy

Well almost anything will be better than your onboard soundcard, but if you're going to spend any money you might as well get something you'll be able to sell.

People around here seem to like the Audiophile and delta 44 on the low end.

I'm thinking of getting the emu 0404 for our keyboard player

All of those are easily found on ebay with a search in the musical instruments section (watch out for cheap buy it now with four times the shipping) and would be easy to dispose of when you're trading up.

Best of luck,

Paddy