New to recording - How to use Helix LT and Audio interface

aspain1984

Hello.

I am new to recording so watching all the videos I can and reading a lot, but can't seem to find a simple answer for how best to record using my Helix LT through a different Audio interface (I want it on the floor for expression pedals).

I also want to record the Di signal as well as the floorboard effects. Do I need a Di box to achieve this?

Thanks in advance for helping a noob out.

Hello.

I am new to recording so watching all the videos I can and reading a lot, but can't seem to find a simple answer for how best to record using my Helix LT through a different Audio interface (I want it on the floor for expression pedals).

I also want to record the Di signal as well as the floorboard effects. Do I need a Di box to achieve this?

Thanks in advance for helping a noob out.
What audio interface would you be using? The number and type of inputs you have can make a difference on what you want to do.

I did a quick look at the HT manual and it looks like you could completely isolate the two paths through the device and have all your FX on one (e.g. A) and the other (B) with nothing, and then feed those two your two L/R outputs, and either of those can be configured as instrument or line-level outputs. So, e.g., if you only have 2 channel inputs on the interface, this would give you a wet and dry recording, with both in mono. If you want stereo FX in the HT, utilizing both L/R outputs, you'll need to add a DI in front of the HT, and at least 3 channel inputs on the interface. At least, that's my quick read thinking.

Thanks for the reply.

I only have a behringer umc22 at the moment as I didn’t want to invest too much until I was more competent. I would look to get a focusrite 2i2 or air 192/6 in the near future though for the extra input/ output

Thanks for the reply.