New To Fd8

trumax

Hi From sydney, just when I needed this site it appears, carry on I will use it, i will bloody have to.I have an FD8, with no users book, owners manual, along with an SCSI [ZIP250] drive the same. I have managed to use it to simply record songs but I wish to mix, and burn from a PC. Any help available, I am very new to this stuff too.
Also; although i have downloaded the software from iomega, for the SCSI i can;t get my laptop to recognise the disc?? say's 'no drive available??

I`ve been using a TERRATEC EWS88D soundcard to transfer tracks on my FD8 to my pc (im running win 98).I use CUBASE 32 VST to mix/edit the tracks and burn etc.....The TERRATEC card came with a version of MICROLOGIIC that i had loads of problems with so i upgraded to CUBASE....the initial settings on the soundcard were a bit confusing at first(German translated to English)but my persistence paid off.....the FD8 and the TERRATEC soundcard have found a happy medium.......hope this helps a bit!

I have a FD-8 and a Terratec EWS88D sound card... I use the TosLink to master CD's from the FD-8 to a Harmon Kardon CD burner... That does not use the Terratec card... and that works really great.

I also pass what I've recorded on the FD-8 to my pc via the Terratec Card. I use the Samplitude Project V5.5 that came with the Sound Card... It does a good job of coping the data so I can back it up....

... I eventually bought Cubase SX because I wanted something a bit newer that had more functionality via the mixer and sequencer... It is really powerful... but it does take time to learn... I occasionally get some popping and clicking when I use SX to copy the data from the FD-8. It appears I have some kind of syncing problem between the Fostex and Cubase... But using Samplitude to copy the files is an easy and no additional cost workaround