new to cool edit

leobluesy

Hello.......
this look like a great place to sit and read a while.

Im new to computer recording and only have experience 20 yrs using my trusty and simple analogue Fostex 160. Computer based or digital recording seems so complex compared to my 160 4 track.
Im working through various aspects of cool edit and getting a little confused by so many features.
Im also reading my way through..Sound FX by A.Case.
A lot to learn but its very interesting.

One apect in his book related to SPREADING ,,, audio I mean :*)
Enhancement of say.. a single vocal by adding say 30ms delay panned left and 20ms panned right.
So.... now I have the vocal wave on screen... would anyone be able to explain the simplest correct way....... click by click that I could obtain this effect...starting from one dry vocal wave.

many thanks
Leo

Hello.......

Im new to computer recording and only have experience 20 yrs using my trusty and simple analogue Fostex 160. Computer based or digital recording seems so complex compared to my 160 4 track.
Im working through various aspects of cool edit and getting a little confused by so many features.

Enhancement of say.. a single vocal by adding say 30ms delay panned left and 20ms panned right.
So.... now I have the vocal wave on screen... would anyone be able to explain the simplest correct way....... click by click that I could obtain this effect...starting from one dry vocal wave.

many thanks
Leo

You would just highlight the wave by clicking on it, then make a copy of it. In my programs, you should be able to hit "CTRL+C" or right click on it and hit copy. Then go to a different track and hit "paste" and make sure it's lined up with the original track.