New to Computer Recording (Advice Needed)

waylay00

I'm an avid guitarist, but I've never been able to record clips of myself. As a result, I've recently had the urge to start a home recording project.

However, I'm not really sure as to what I need to get. I have a guitar amp that I need to record and a bass that I can DI (and possibly a MIDI keyboard). Everything else (drums, mixing, etc,) will be done on the computer. As far as PC specs go, I'm a gamer, so I'm running:

Core 2 Duo Quad Q9450
4GB DDR2800
500GB Seagate SATA Drive
Creative X-Fi Sound Card
Windows Vista 64-Bit

I'd like to be able to:

a) record simple demos of new guitar gear for reviews
b) jam over pre-made backing tracks
c) make my own backing tracks and, eventually, songs

So far, I know that I'll need:

- Mic for guitar (possibly an SM57?)
- Interface for the computer (Presonus Firebox? Mbox 2 Pro?)
- Software (Pro Tools LE? Cubase?)

I don't really want to restrict myself to a budget, as I'd be willing to buy better parts one at a time rather than buying mediocre parts all at once. However, I guess the range of interfaces I've been looking at are from $300-$600 (stuff like the Presonus Firebox, FireStudio Project, Digidesign Mbox 2 Pro, etc.)

I'm just looking for your opinions regarding what I should get. Thanks.

no budget restriction? :eek:

If you really really don't have budget restrictions, I would take a look at the Apogee Rosetta 200 + Firewire adapter card. This doesn't come with a built in preamp though, so you'd have to buy that separately, but with a sweet pre-amp, you'll probably never ever have to upgrade :D

Back on planet earth, it sounds like you'll only be recording a couple tracks at any given time. It's slightly more expensive than the other interfaces you've been looking at, but take a look at the Mackie Onyx 400F. It's only a 4 input box, but it's got excellent pre-amps and converters, and judging from what you want to do, 4 inputs should be plenty.

:D