New Song for Mixing/Sound Critique :O thanks!

JPlush76

Hey guys, I got a new tune that I just got done mixing. Any feedback would be MUCH appreciated, I'm still a newb when it comes to mixing and eq'ing.

thanks again!

the recording was done on:
drums - tascam 788 porta studio
everything else - cakewalk sonar

fellow 788 user

good tune..

The mix doesn't sound good to me.. The vocals are too loud at times.. (ie the scream @2:37,) and the snare drum and bass drum are too low.. when he's riding the crash it doesn't sound good at all.. maybe if the drums (not the cymbals) were brought up, it might make the vocal mix be better.. I still think the vocals will be too loud in spots.. all of this is imhop.. It sounds very compressed.

good tune though.. almost has the 'arena' sound from all the reverb maybe..

I cranked it up, sounded good and strong. I like the attitude of the vocal, seemed to fit the music perfectly. The bass interludes sounded very nice.
The overall mix had kind of a brittle quality...sorry I can't be more specific. Just sounded like it needed warming up.
Performance-wise, topnotch.
The writing/composition is very good, definitely contemporary.
Guitars are powerful, just a tiny bit generic...but that's a nitpick.
Good job!

Mark

I thought this was a pretty good piece of music. I kind of liked the song. The "main" guitar had a nice "growling" sound to it. Good playing too. I liked the section through 2:27 - 2:34. for some reason I thought that was a cool part. Don't know why.

For some reason, the vocals seem to have difficulty coming through. I can't understand many words - but that's not necessarily a bad thing. I thought I heard the vocals clip at 1:07 and 1:12 - some other spots too. There was an occasional scream that came through loud and clear. By contrast it was a little much.

There's 10 seconds of silence at the end.

I focused on too many negatives. Good effort.

thanks everyone for your replies!