New Monitors

puffin

Hey dudes!

This is my first post (a proud moment, indeed!) on what I call my "Digital Audiossey" (Get it? Get it?)

Anyhoo... After setting up my new audio PC, I will be investing in a pair of near-field powered monitors and shall be ambling down to my nearest music store this weekend.

My problem is this; I don't really know my ass from my elbow when it comes to these cos it is my first time listening. What should I be looking out for and how do I evaluate them in terms of sound? I have heard generally nice things about the Tannoy Reveals, so I shall be investigating them. What is "transparent sound"? and will the Reaveals fulfill my monitoring needs for a long time to come?

My other equipment consists of

A C1000s mic, Behringer mixer/preamp, Delta 66 soundcard if it is important...

Many thanks....

Welcome to the forum,
A good monitor is easy to find, first read all the reviews and eliminate all the ones you dont like. Get three choices and go to the store. Look for the one with real flat response, in other words it shouldn't boost Low, mid or high end. Look for that in your face punch.
Another easy way is to go down the store and listen to the best monitor ever available in that store. Like a Genelec 1030 or KRK V8 or Mackie HR824. Then play all the others and find the close sounding monitor in your budget. IF you haev a big budget you can get a pair in those 3 :)

Good advice, although ultimately depressing if you're on a budget.

Also, bring a CD that you've played a gazillion times. When you start hearing things on it you've never noticed before, you're hearing good monitors.

Don't be tempted by Alesis speakers. IMHO they are really lame.

Thanks guys.

I have been doing my research on this forum and the rest of the web. There are so many divergent opinions out there that it's hard to know what to buy. I guess it really is a personal taste thing. I just don't want my inexperience to lead me to a bad purchase...