New microphone on tight budget? AT2020?

blmusic

Hello, I started my basic home studio in February. I have a Peavey PV6 USB Mixer (sufficient for my needs), all the software etc etc but I have been using a Shure C606 ($40 - £30 microphone similar to the SM58) I am wondering what microphone I should get on a tight budget, I have looked at the AT2020 from Audio Technica and it seems pretty good, I can get it for £55 at the moment as well. I will be capturing vocals and guitar (acoustic) in a fairly untreated room but I do not need perfection. Thanks, Oliver

I have the AT2035, which is pretty much just the same mic with a few more features, and I like it. I can tell you that you won't regret buying it. It is a budget mic, but it's well worth it's price. It's a good mic to start out with, and that's just what you're doing. I'm relatively new to home recording as well, but even after I upgrade to more expensive gear, I still expect to keep this mic around. I ended up finding it new for cheaper($87) than the AT2020 usually comes($90-100?), so keep an eye out for that mic as well.

At the price you get AT2035's you can't go wrong. An AT2035 is basically a AT2020 with a -10dB pad switch and a bass roll off switch, both very useful.

Alan.

I'm a big fan of the MXL V67g for an inexpensive mic ...... I have a couple of them and they do sound damned good for the price .... just as an alternative.

Hi Bugz.. yeh I heard it is slightly better.. unfortunately I will not be able to afford it any time soon.. well here in the uk and I need a mic for some work soon!

Yeh Lt. Bob.. I heard that they are great.. unfortunately they are £125 in the UK and the AT2020 is only £55 so I won't be able to afford it..