New Mic...help

Bassman

Hey all,

Well I did it, I laid down 300+ Bucks and bought a NT1 and a ART Tube MP...and to say the least, I am impressed.. BUT I have a question, and though I know the answer is gonna be " what ever sounds good to you", Ill ask anyway. The gain settings on the Pre.. how do you go about adjusting them.. like you would on a guitar amp? get the sound you like with the Input stage, and then adjust the over all volume with the Out?.. Or is there one that I want to keep as low as possible?.. what is the purpose of the +20 db pad? what will require such a boost.. Any suggestions would be helpful ( even though it sounds great.. but then again I have virgin ears).

Much thanks, as usual
Scott

I was out trolling for virgins when I saw your post.... wait; wrong BBS. :)
I'm also new to the mic/ preamp fun but went with a different preamp. My question to you is: What does your ART manual say about the 20 dB pad? Does this boost or cut the signal when engaged? Is there a pilot light to let you know which setting you've selected?

It's not a 20db pad, it's a 20db boost. I wouldn't call that lousy sheet of paper that comes with the Tube MP a manual. Lose it and forget everthing it said about setups if you can. :D Basicaly the +20db boost is there in case you need more volume, but what it really does well is overdrive your signal. So unless you want a lot of gain on your signal, or you can't get a hot enough signal, keep it in normal mode. (especially with condensors) As far as setting the input and output levels. I've found that keeping them about equal is the the best way to go. It just sounds cleaner to me that way, but experimentation is the key. With the boost engaged, it seems to emphasise upper mid frequencies- with in most applications is a sound I don't like. But hey, I'll go for that sound when I think I need it.

-jhe