New Metalcore Tune - *no vocals*

AntWise

Hi Guys!

Here is a new tune i have been working on during my free time!

iv started using revalver for guitars, this is the best tone iv managed so far.

Let me know what you think?

Im trying to learn as much as possible about what works and doesn't work within a mix so if you wouldnt mind letting me know some of the things that i could do better next time? that would be great!

im pretty much a noob here but if theres anything you want me to check out, feel free to hit me up!

Thanks for your help! :drunk:

Attachments

• New Tune 9_1_13 drums.mp3
    4.5 MB · Views: 33
I thought the playing was real good. I thought the guitars sounded OK.

My biggest nit would be in the overall balance of levels. The mix is all guitars. The drums and bass (if there is one) are covered up.

Other than that, I thought it was a good start.

Yup, I agree. Typical amateur metalcore mix - all the focus in on the brootalz of the guitars at the expense of everything else. The kick and bass is really lacking. Since guitars is really all there is, lets' talk about them. They sound ok. Not bad, not great. I think I'm hearing a blanket of mid fuzz in there somewhere that's typical of sims. Look in the mids and high mids and see if you can isolate the offending frequencies and gently notch em out. Just guessing here...I'd look in the 600-700 range and somewhere between 2500-4000. This will tighten up the guitar tracks and let the lows and highs pop out better.

Thanks for the reply!

i'm a guitar player, so i guess thats why the levels are messed up, I'm hearing what i wanna hear! :listeningmusic:
There is a bass track and when its muted you can tell a difference... ill boost it up a bit. Hopefully soon i can get some vocals on there, i find it easier to get levels right when guitars arn't the main focus!

thanks again!