New here... Please critique.

BoneDigger

As a little intro, I'm new to recording and not overly knowledgeable on the subject. My initial intention was to simply make some basic recordings of myself using my ipod touch. Then I went deeper and bought a Zoom H4N. Now I have even more equipment and I'm getting lost. First let me explain my goals:

I want to make some recording for myself, my friends, and family. I hope to start song writing soon and MIGHT use my recordings as demos. I'm not sure about that one yet. I'm 45, so I'm no spring chicken, but I still have many good years in me (hopefully). I'm not necessarily looking for studio quality, but I'd like it to sound good.

So, here is what I have. I have a Zoom H4N setup on a mic stand. I have two Samson C02 mics set up to record in stereo. I have an MXL V67g on a mic stand with a pop filter for vocals. I have two Rokit 6 monitors and a laptop with Windows 7 and an i5 processor. For software I have Reaper, EZ Drummer, and Izotope Nectar Light voice software.

My music style is mostly acoustic with some electric instruments thrown in. I play acoustic guitar, banjo, mandolin, electric bass, and a telecaster with a decent amp. My music is mostly folk-pop along the lines of Gordon Lightfoot, John Denver, and James Taylor.

My goal, if you can call it that, is to setup a click track, lay down a drum beat for it, add bass, then acoustic, (possibly banjo or mandolin), then the electric if the song calls for it. Last would be vocals which I would edit with Nectar. All this would get dropped into Reaper and produced for a CD.

My current setup is in a medium sized room with wood floors and panelled walls. That may change soon, so for now I'm more interested in the other parts of the equation.

So, feel free to critique. What do I have right? What do I have wrong? Tips?

Todd

Are you using Zoom as audio interface to record directly to Reaper or you are recording to Zoom first and then transferring the files to Reaper?