New guitar for metal

johndowis

I've been playing guitar for 8 years. I own:

ESP M-350 with EMG 85/81 pickups
Hamer something with EMG HZ pickups
a few other guitars I never play

I originally learned to play with songs like early Metallica and Megadeath, but after a couple years I went out and started playing all different kinds of music. Now I am about to start getting back into metal, but more technical stuff like power metal. I need a good guitar for soloing, so it needs a good tremelo (none of my guitars have a tremelo) and good pickups that have good response for harmonic overtones.

I have been considering an Ibanez S-Series, such as the S520EX. Then I'd probably put in either a set of DiMarzio Evolutions or switch in the EMG 85/81 off of my ESP. However, I don't really have the money to spend on something that expensive, and would really rather find something in the $300-400 range if at all possible. I just need something capable of doing what I need, which admittedly mostly revolves around having a good tremelo on a guitar that otherwise gets the job done. This is just to practice and learn the style, and in a year I will graduate from my master's program and have enough desposable income to really get something nice.

So, does anyone have any suggestions?

well I play in a power metal band and I always use Ibanez... the other guitarist (my brother) has an Ibanez RG370DX and it's pretty much the best "budget" guitar I've ever seen... other than the pickups it is perfect!

I would get one of those and shove in Evolutions if you can (I have an RG1570 Prestige with Evolutions and it is the perfect power metal guitar (imho..))...

Check out the RG series anyway!

Sorry t disagree but frankly, Ibanez is a toy... you know, it doesn't have its own personality (as a Gibson or a fender) It's a guitar made to play "eveything". When you want to please everyone, you end pleasing no one.