New Computer based system idea - help needed

thewanderer24

Hi all. I'm a forum and recording newb, so please be gentle. I have been reading a whole lot of threads here and elsewhere, and am slowly getting ideas of a system.

Background:
I want to build a PC based recording setup that is modular enough that it can grow with me as money, space, and time will permit.

My main initial use will be for recording 3 (or 4 at the most) sources at a time. These will be instruments (guitar/bass/flute/horns/etc, and vocals). Drums are not in the picture for the short term, but will be a year or two down the road.

My current idea:
I will be getting a new PC which will be dedicated only to these audio applications. I probably won't even install internet access. I will be getting as good as a PC as I can afford with a high end processor, at least 1GB of RAM, and some kind of decent soundcard (probably at least a Delta 1010, maybe better if I can afford it).

The deal for the Mackie Onyx 1210 with free firewire card has me extremely interested. Recording with it directly with inputs through the firewire interface or from the mixer to the soundcard inputs should be doable, and give me some options, I think. Any reason I should fear this setup??

i know that long term, I will need more inputs, but at that point, I hopefully should be able to add more mic's/pres (either individually, or with another mixer) directly through the soundcard? Is that realistic? Dumb?

Or, I could add another soundcard (I believe at least the 1010, and I'm sure many others, are made to be expandable and work with more cards) if needed?

The nice thing about going this route in my mind, is it also should leave me a few hundred extra bucks right now to get a couple decent mics, and still leave me a load of flexibility to add pieces as I go.

Does this plan make sense?

Looking forward to any and all thoughts you guys have. Thanks much.