need some help with my yamaha MD8

jordiemac

ok so i've had my MD8 for awhile and here is my problem...i'm a noob and i don't know too much about mixing down. My problem is how can i get the music from my MD8 to something else? Like I've tried using the stereo out into my sound card on my computer and recording it to like the windows recorder but the quality loss is sick. I need to know what some good ways are of getting the audio off the MD8 and onto the computer preferably...or something else...but i don't know where to start.

Find an inexpensive CD mixdown deck if your unit doesnt have one built in. I picked a sony up for cheap a while ago and I'm still using it for rough mixs. Although most my final mixes are mixed down to a half inch machine now.

Another alternative would be to get a better soundcard for your comp like this.

Then just plug your MD8 straight in and record your mix to the freeware Audacity, save it as a wav file and burn it to a CD.

beauty thanks guys...by the way a cd mixdown deck...does that basically have a rca input and it burns directly to cd? I'm not sure how that works...and what sort of price ranges are they...any good makes or models you know of?

Did you click on the link I provided?

That soundcard has RCA inputs and burns directly to CD when you save the wav file from Audacity.

The cheapest standalone CD player I know of is the HHB and that uses special 'music' disks and it's still around $400.

jordiemac said:
beauty thanks guys...by the way a cd mixdown deck...does that basically have a rca input and it burns directly to cd? I'm not sure how that works...and what sort of price ranges are they...any good makes or models you know of?

Here's a page with the CD Recorder offerings from ZZounds. I tried looking at Full Compass, but their page was being slow for me today. The cheapest one on this page seems to be a 5 disc recorder for $299 from Sony

http://www.zzounds.com/a--2676837/p...2814&ob=p19&button=Filter+Results&form=search