Need info on Pod Line 6 version 1

bornmad

Could someone tell me if there is a major difference bewteen the Pod Line 6 version 1 and Pod Line 6 version 2.

The reason I am asking is because a Pod version 1 is on ebay for a decent price.

Also, I currently use a Digitech RP100 for my effects (I am a beginnning guitarist) and I wanted to know anyone's opinion on upgrading to the Line 6. I know that the Digitech is considered low end, but will I see a great difference in capabilites and creativity in going for the Pod Line 6?

There are people who seem to swear by the Pod, but others who seem to have used amp setups are not to impressed. Of course, I don't have the money for such a relaistic setup, so I would be interested in your opinion's

I think the POD would be a good choice for you. I'm not sure about the differences between the two versions, but I think you can upgrade to the 2.0 version from Line6, so you might check to see which way would be cheaper. Anyways, I'll let someone who's done that comment about it.

I've never used an RP100, but I've had several Digitech rack effects units, and for direct recording none of them even comes close to comparing with the POD. While the POD isn't as good as a great sounding room full of great tube amps to choose from, it's not near as expensive or tough to setup either, and it's still pretty darn good sounding. I prefer my amp when it comes down to it, but the POD is a great tool and honestly I don't notice that it doesn't sound as good as my amp until I actually compare them side by side. I definitely don't think you would be disapointed with it, and you might even be amazed at how much better it sounds than the RP100.

Do a BBS search for POD and you'll find tons of threads about it. Also, if you want to hear the POD in action by people on the BBS, search the MP3 Mixing Clinic for threads about the POD.