Need help with sound quality

Enigma

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to home recording (about 2 months), and could use a little help with getting better sound quality out of my recordings.

Here's a link to a sample of my results: http://soundelight.hypermart.net/musicsample.zip - It's a remake of LIT's "Ziplock Bag"

The following is a list of my equipment:
Ibanez RG 270 DX - POD 2.1 (Direct recording, since I have a heck of a time getting even decent sounds from micing my amp) - 2 Shure SM57s - 1 Shure Radio Shack Omnidirectional Mic (I know, I know :)... but it's the same style as an SM58 and I can't notice much of a difference between it and the SM57s) - Crate PA-6 6 Channel Powered Mixer (used only when micing) - Mark II drumset using Zildjian and Paiste cymbals. All of this runs into an AMD K6-2 450 with a Turtle Beach Montego Home Studio sound card with Cakewalk 9.

I realize that my room is not the greatest (about 20x20 with a 7 foot ceiling) and my vocals leave a lot to be desired... I just think it's possible to get a little better sound but need to be steered in the right direction... Any help would GREATLY be appreciated.

Chris

ok then , i think you need to try and isolate what it is that doesnt apeal to u about your recordings. Is it to lifely , or to dead ....etcetc.. Im just downloading your sample so we'll see if its quite noticeable what your setup needs.. Do u use any compression?? or does your mix even need it if you do?? This looks quite big , this file i mean , so ill come back to this after i hear it ....

spider

well i just had a listen to it , its kind of hard to compare to what you have burnt on a disc , i dont know how much quality was lost posting it on the net .. i spose it wouldnt be too much loss , if any actually..