Need Firebox and DMP3 help

deone

Thanks for your reading.

I am a beginner in recording and just bought some gears: Firebox interface, AT3035 mic and DMP3 preamp (at first I thought the preamps of Firebox is enough but later I decided to buy the DMP3).

I want to sing alive with my friends online. But how can I do internal recording like recording "stereo mix" which mixes the instrumental song with my voice in real time?
I tried to use SPDIF cable to route "SPDIF out" to "SPDIF in" but even if I use SPDIF clocking source, the firebox could not sync with itself. Is there anything I am missing?
Another possible solution may be routing the "OUT 3/4" to "LINE IN 3/4". I have not tried this but from some previous post it is said that SPDIF routing will achieve better sound quality?

I am more willing to hook DMP3 to the "LINE IN 3/4" port on firebox instead of its mic preamp to avoid stacking gain. However, if I routing the "OUT 3/4" to "LINE IN 3/4", I have to hook DMP3 to the mic preamp of firebox. So I prefer SPDIF routing, although I have not figured out how to do that.

But if I can hook DMP3 to "LINE IN 3/4", should I just use a standard 1/4 TRS TO 1/4 TRS cable and connect DMP3 to one of the two ports say "LINE IN 3" and do mono recording? If I have to stack gain, does it affect much in recording quality?
Thank you:)

Yi

You should be able to use a trs->trs cable from one of the 1/4" outputs on the DMP3 to either line input 3 or 4 on the Firebox.
Set your Firebox to sync internally (default mode).

Your current setup does not allow for a spdif connection between the Firebox and the DMP3.
Do not worry about stacking gain, it's the least of your worries at this point, just concentrate on getting the basics understood.

Thank you for your reply.
Actually I want to connect the spdif out of firebox to its spdif in to achieve internal recording (I don't know the exact term). But the firebox can not sync with itself. Is there anyone tried that?