need an amp

osion

i dont know if im posting in the right place, but i couldnt find an amp forum...

ok, i use a godin exit 22 guitar. i play mostly alternative/indie rock type music. been playing acoustic for last five years, recently switched to electric...
now i want an amp... at first i was looking at solid states because tubes intimidate me but i tried out a bunch of solid states under 500 dollars and i dont know, they didnt blow me away. so i figured i might as well check out tube amps... first of all are tube amps complicated to maintain? i dont know anything about the electronics, would i be able to change tubes and all that myself or would i need to go somewhere to do it?
so i want a good amp... i can go as high as 700 dollars.... right now i dont gig but i would like to so i need it to have decent power ( i was thinking 30-40 watts?)... and i would also like to use the amp as a practice amp at home, is that possible? because i have no experience with tube amps but i hear they get loud fast (we do rehearsal at a friends basement so loudness isnt a problem there but i live in an apartment). i want it to have a nice clean and nice warm distortion. i live in NYC so i should be able to try out most of the amps you suggest.... i've been reading up this past week and one amp that got really good reviews is traynor YCV40... let me know if any of you have experience with it.. thanks a lot guys, this site is awesome.