Need advice on quasi-pro studio mics

Elmo89m

Ive been recording for several years and have found a partner with funds and space to start putting together a respectable studio. I know equipment, but i would like some opinions on mics for a couple different applications.

1) what would be good for toms. I was thinking sm57 but i don't know if those will really cut it.

2) LDC for use with sm57 as a 3 foot back mic with electric guitar.

3) Should i use two mics on kick, if so how. If i use one mic i was thinking a beta52. should i maybe use a condensor?(i heard of people doing this.)

4) Would sm7 be good for hihat?

Last edited:
1) 421
2) 4033
3) something with very high spl
4) there are probably better options

hmmm...i'm thinking he just didn't type a 5 in there.

i think some sdc's would be better to get the toms and cymbals and to even out the sound but...whatever floats your boat...and wallet

I conquer with Falkin,

You can not go wrong with a 421 on anything from guit cabs, toms, even bass and kick.

if your gonna get 57 I'd go Beta version for the snare at least. Don't waste money on a 57 for Hihat cause it's not gonna do you good.

Invest in a quality pair of SDC's like people say. Unless the drummer does a lot of hi hat work, I usually end up with enough from overheads so you may not need to get it right away.

markitzero said:
SM7 on hat? Thats a waste of an SM7.

And a very odd choice, given that the SM7 doesn't have a lot of high end sparkle to it, which is generally where the high hats are mixed. It would make a pretty good overhead/tom mic though. With the rolloff and presence boost on and the windshield off it might work okay for hi hats.

I found, of all things, a RODE NT3 quite good at hi hats. I'd look at an SDC.

I like the term 'quasi-pro', I've done a fair amount of work that I've only been 'quasi' paid for...

Daniel Reichman said: