Need advice on buying first multitrack..

Cobra67

I'm buying my first multitrack recorder. Our band has played in clubs over the years. We would record in our basement but we just plugged the ol' boombox in and centered it in the room and hit RECORD. But anywho, I'm getting ready to buy my first multitrack. I'm new to it but I do know that I'd prefer 4-simulatenous play. I was looking at the Tascam 414mk II. I think that the Porta 02 doesn't have what I'm looking for. OK I'm TOTALLY inexperienced with recording. Also how would I record my music from a Tascam 414 to a computer? Like with Cakewalk Home Studio 7 (I think that's the cheap one). If anyone could help me with this step-by-step ( I AM a beginner in every sense of the word), it would be appreciated. Thanks ahead of time to whoever replies.

You want advice on buying your first multitrack? Get in your car and drive as fast and as far as you can away from anything related to recording. If you don't you will end up like all of us at this website. Prisoners caught in the web of hype and gear related deception, trying hopelessly to free ourselves and our families from this bottomless pit of tape and digital manure. Please, oh please, I beg you, don't make the same mistake we have all succumbed to. Life is good...Live it..Run fast, grasshoppah....

Seriously, check out the many informative articles and bits of info on the homepage.

I've had a 414 for a little over a year and it's a great unit for the price. You can simultaneously record all 4 tracks, it records at double speed, has built-in dbx, 2 sends per channel, plus the MK II has 2 XLR inputs which mine (the original) doesn't. Do you have other gear to go with the 4-track, like mics, a mixer, preamps, mic stands, mixdown deck or CD writer, etc.? If not you'll need to think about those and more. Monty is right. This home studio thing is a bigger money pit than my house.