My studio space and a question about a possible vocal booth (pictures)

Shanelor

Hi, it's me. The annoying guy who asks a million questions.

I'm not sure if this belongs in this section, but technically i am a newb, so, let's take a quick tour.

6962cb4e.jpg

1fac1ab7.jpg

b5a790ce.jpg

0c707150.jpg

d085c409.jpg

881d0024.jpg

64405b36.jpg

What do you guys think? I'm rather proud of my set up, its large, great acoustics, doors that open up to the perfect drum room, and here's my question. (Pictures first, question under pictures)

a3ac8426.jpg

f811749e.jpg

d92ccd81.jpg

84933a76.jpg

In the drum room, theres this strange wooden "storage" area that was built. It just seems like i could use it for something...maybe a vocal booth?

How would i go about treating that little area if i were to do that, does it need to be completely confined, im guessing with it being made of just wood, it would probably echo quite a bit, would i need to put some sort of foam around the walls to make the sound better? or should i just not bother with it and do vocals WHEREVER?

thanks!

I would use the storage area as a storage area.

You've got a good airy room there by the look of it, and I think you would get much better results on vocals by having someone record there rather than in an upright coffin.

I would also shift the recording stuff out of the corner. There's heaps of stuff on the web about where to place monitoring systems, and a corner is not a good place.

You've got a good airy room there by the look of it, and I think you would get much better results on vocals by having someone record there rather than in an upright coffin.

I would also shift the recording stuff out of the corner. There's heaps of stuff on the web about where to place monitoring systems, and a corner is not a good place.

I agree with all the above!