My first song using a BOSS BR-800 (no DAW softwares)

TBOF

So this is it. My first attemp at making a song entirely with the BOSS BR-800 digital recorder. No DAW softwares were used in the recording and mixing process, and besides the use of a VOX Tonelab for the wah on the lead guitar, all the effects (COSM) are from the BR-800. I would really appreciate any comments. I'm new at recording and mixing my own arrangements, so any advice will be more than welcome.

Since I can't post links/attachments (I don't have 10 posts yet), you will have to click on my Soundclick.com/TheBestOfFools link in my signature to get to my Soundclick music homepage and listen to the song named "Pipeline".

Gear and equipement used for this recording and other notes :

Left rhythm guitar : Homemade Telecaster --> BR-800 guitar input with built in insert effect
Right rhythm guitar : Les Paul Custom --> BR-800 guitar input with built in insert effect
Lead guitar : Homemade VH Frankenstrat replica --> VOX TonelabLE (wah patch) --> BR-800 Inputs 1/2
Bass : Fender Road Worn 60's Jazz Bass --> Tech 21 VTBass (SVT setting) --> BR-800 guitar input with BOSS D-Comp style compressor setting
Drums : Arrangement made on the BR-800 (room kit / rock patterns).
Master FX Patch P17 Brighten (Mix Down)
Monitors : Yamaha MSP-5
Headphones : Sony MDR-7506

Thanks

Last edited:
Those standalone recorders look fun. I've never used one, but I'm guessing it limits what you can do in terms of mixing. The guitar in the beginning had a lot of distortion and was loud, almost overtaking the drums - but maybe you were going for that. I had to turn down the speakers. Once the lead guitar came in, it was too much distortion from both guitars and the melody got lost in it. Sounded like a nice lead setting for guitar, though. Also, the kick could probably go up a little. Have fun with the new recorder!