My First MIX: RAP/ROCK crossover track. I need FEEDBACK!

Dutch Dave

I just mixed the first track of my band RFM, in which I rap.
Here's the LINK. The song is called It's About Time.

I uploaded the beta-version of the mix and I really need your guys feedback.
What do you think about the drums, vocals, guitars, bass, song, etc?

I mixed the song in Cubase SX 3. The intro is made with a midi-keyboard and an Edirol plug-in. I did a 'quick simple mastering' using Waves.

The snares sound strange to me. Are they compressed?
What is that instrument taking a lot energy at around 70 Hz? Is it supposed to be a kick drum, then it badly needs tweaking.

LogicDeLuxe said:
The snares sound strange to me. Are they compressed?
What is that instrument taking a lot energy at around 70 Hz? Is it supposed to be a kick drum, then it badly needs tweaking.

The snare's compressed yes.
And can you eleborate a little more about the kick? What's wrong with it? (it peaks at 62HZ btw)

Please explain yourself a little further, I'm not really an experienced mixer yet.

The loud guitar (the louder track) seems out of phase, and is too loud and is distracting...The Bass guitar needs some definition...boost around 3k... the kick is also...boost the top.. VOX need to come up a tad...but may be buried cause the guitars..

Not bad for a 1st go man... :D

EDIT: the kick is all low end....give some high end to give it definition... like up 'round 5-7k...

the peak at 62 is all woomp....

Thanks for the feedback. I already tweaked the kick and bass a little bit.

But what excactly do you mean with 'the loud guitar'? The short chords?