my 1st attempt

jrich

Hi everyone.

This is my first try at recording and mixing and entire song so I'm looking for some feedback so I can improve.

It is a cover of Engine #9 by the deftones, so please no comments on song structure or anything, also the drumming is done by our guitarist and the singing by someone who can't sing (me). So there are a few messups, and some out of key singing (but its mostly growling/yelling)

I just want tips on how to improve the mix/recording. It is a pretty straightforward song without a lot of dynamics. Go ahead and be brutal if you must, but please tell me why and what I should do to fix the problem. When I get a chance I will post some of our originals for comment.

high quality mp3 - 5.5mb

normal quality mp3 - 2.7mb

Thanks in advance. I'll post later how it was recorded if anyone is interested.

josh

Not too shabby. It could use some over all sparkle (a bit more snap on the snare, Guitars a little more in your face). The vocal is a little low in the mix too but that may be by choice. Not bad at all.:cool:

Thanks for the comment.

I forgot to mention that I don't have any monitors yet, so I just checked it in as many places as possible.

I agree it seems to be missing some sparkle, I don't know where to add eq for that, or if I just can't get any because of the tracking. The snare sound I don't like too much, I think the mic got moved after it was setup because I had a better sound before (could i eq it somewhere to give it a bit more snap? I don't remember the settings right now)

The vocal is low by choice, I felt that it fit better with the song...plus I didn't want my out of key singing to stand out. I can't wait to record some originals because our singer has an amazing voice.

thanks,
josh

Not bad at all for a practice recording. It's got a cool feel to it. Work on your drum sound and tighten up the bass and you'll probably have some cool shit.