MXL V-67G VS Studio projects C1 FINAL ROUND

xpurt

OKAY? enough of this bull shit..

For male Rap vocals.

Which one would have a clearer but warmer feel to it?

I'll bite - but I'm no pro by ANY means, so take this for what it's worth.

I've used both and own a V67. They are not THAT incredibly different. I recall the C1 being a little crisper, and the V67 is a bit warmer. I actually liked the sound of both - but I don't record rap, so YMMV.

It's important to note that several people with much, much more experience and better ears suggest the 67 is muddy and the C1 is too bright. So some people may tell you forget both and get a nice dynamic! (Are you there, Tubedude? Chessparov?)

On the other hand, others (Harvey Gerst among them) really love the V67, and I know many here have used the C1 without complaint.

So I guess it comes down to..... personal preference!

You said you wanted both warmth and clarity, and I fear that the answer here is that you'll get more warmth with the 67 and more clarity with the C1.

For what it's worth,

Fab

xpurt said:

Hmmm. Clearer but warmer? :D Okay, it's time for some coffee now, and I want it to be hotter but colder.

Seriously, though, the C1 will probably be clearer but the v67 will probably be warmer.

If you're not using a good mic pre, then I'd hesitate to recommend a condenser with a transformer output (particularly of the cheaper variety) like the v67. I'd give the nod to the C1 if that's the case.

OKAY? enough of this bull shit.. For male Rap vocals.

Alright, as long as you put it that way: Shure SM-7

But you should already know that since you're the Xpurt. :D

hip hop says sm7 to me. $300 used.

but the beyer m88 is also good. $150-$200 used. probably a better value.

both are mics that are good for aggressive male voices. both handle loud people and pops well.

SounB said:
But the MXL V-67G is only $99 and the C1 $199?