Mxl 990 Vs Rode K2

hottsauce_21

Hey whats up ya'll? Well its like this, i wanna order the RODE K2 and wanna know if ill be able to HEAR a BIG difference between the QUALITY of that and the OLD mic i recorded with, the MXL 990. I heard the Rode NTK was a good way to go for RAP vocals, SO of course the RODE K2 has got to be better. BUT will i really notice a BIG change??? I have a Voicemaster Pro and a Emu 1212m soundcard, u can check out the quality of my music here

http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=16725396

please let me know if the quality will be a HUGE change...

That is one of the few mics out there that I can NOT see you being dissapointed with. It's got an astounding dynamic range not requiring any pad. It's bottom end is as tight as a drum, the mids are open and not scooped, the upper end is smoother than the NTK (by design). It will easily rival mics many times it's price. No doubt about it.....it is a winner, and my "go to" vocal mic of choice.

you really dive into some interesting and new lyrical ideas with imagery farther than the normal rap artist.

oh wait..no you don't you just talk about sex.

get some new lyrics, you generic whore that's a shame to the music industry.

cello_pudding said:
you really dive into some interesting and new lyrical ideas with imagery farther than the normal rap artist.

oh wait..no you don't you just talk about sex.

get some new lyrics, you generic whore that's a shame to the music industry.

STFU!!!....

I'm of the opinion that most people in a home recording setting probably don't have the monitoring environment necessary to make decisions any more complex than regular versus decaf. Nor do they have the skill set to properly engineer anything more complex than a birdhouse or mix anything more complex than a cake batter.