Multitracking w/o a Computer

m98ter

Hey guys, I'm completely new to all this so I guess I'm in the correct forum....so here goes. I've did a little multitracking in my time with some friends on an old porta studio where we did the old tried and true casette recording, mixing, mastering, using the stereo out jacks to a crappy dual casette recorder leaving us with a finished casette our product in a low quality form. Now I'm ready to move on to something a little more advanced (and a little better sounding even though I'm not looking for anything close to pro quality), and I have no idea what to look at. I know from reading around (pretty much this entire site) that my biggest drawback will be my lack of a computer, considering that I really *think* that I want to buy an 8 track digital multitrack. So I guess my question is, how can I end up with that same style analog crappy sounding casette in CD form with my digital multitrack w/o using a computer to transfer tracks/mixdown/master and so on. I've been heavily considering buying a multitrack with a built in cdr drive (such as the VF80 or Tascam 788 with burner). My only question though, is whether or not this is going to leave me with the same type of finished product as my old analog machine (seems like i've read that you only get a song per cd)? I had been considering a Fostex MR8 for some time as well, and then adding an Audio Cd recorder to it with the stero out jacks and recording that way, but it seems from what ive read that its best suited for computer recording. Really, I have no idea what im talking about, and I just hope someone manages to get my question out of this long winded post.

I got some pretty good sounding demos from an old fostex 4 track way back.

You won't get the same "crappy sounding" recordings because there's no quality loss bouncing digital tracks like there is with tape (or wax cylinder).