Multitrack Recording with USB Mic's? (No Mixer) Advice needed

ray.meer

Hi Guys
Im new to this forum, i apologize if this is in the wrong thread.

Anyway i'm new to this whole recording thing. i'm looking to basically record my band on multitrack (2 Guitars, 1 Bass, 3 Vocals and Drums) as well as monitor everything that's going on. in the past when we were recording i used to basically use around 3 USB Mics and plug them straight to the USB ports of my computer, then in Adobe Audition (software i use to edit/record) i use to configure each mic on a new track and it use to work pretty well.

My question is, is instead of buying a mixer etc, i just want to buy a few usb mics 6/8 and get USB Powered Hub to connect them to, and just record straight off the usb mics, then use the Monitoring feature in Audition to monitor each track. i use ASIO 4 ALL to reduce latency. Do you think this method would work? Will there be a lot of latency if i do it this way? what are the risks etc?

If you dont recommend it, what alternatives would you recommend? that is still cheap and wont cost me a fortune, basically what i need is to record around 8 mics on multitrack on my laptop to Adobe Audition, and have an option to monitor each track. I would prefer going with the first option (USB HUB/USB MICS) but any expert advice would be good!

Help would be much appreciated
Let me know if you need more clarifying

Cheers
Ray