MR-8 o VF08???

jwai

hi guys,
i'm a guitarist hoping to get my songs into a CD. its basically alot of instumental guitar stuff. i was thinking of getting a MR-8 or a VF08. which one is better? i know the MR8 is newer and i've heard plenty of great reviews about it here. what about the VF08? its kinda cheaper than the MR8. can it do what a MR8 does? basically, i'm new to recording. i've just got myself drum machine. so i'll be doing everything by myself along with the bass and keyboards. i intend to transfer the songs from the recorder to the PC to burn. does the VF08 gives good results? thanks alot guys! really appreciate it..

vf08

from what i can find, the vf08 is a scsi adaptor, not a recording unit, the vf80 is a recorder which is MORE expensive the then the mr8, but has the option of an internal cd burner, the biggest difference is the internal 20 gig hard drive vs the 128 meg compact flash card, only holds about 3 min of 8 tracks on normal mode, so many people end up having to buy a bigger card, 256 meg around 70.00 and the 512 meg around 120.00. I chose the mr8 and the memory is the only downside, but if you move your recorded tracks to your pc you can edit them in n-tracks and get great results. Both are outstanding machines

Jwai, there is actually a thread on this page that deals with this very question. It's an issue that have been flogged to death in this forum. I'm sure you'll get the answer you need. :)

basically, i've already got a guitar fx processor and i'll be recording with a mic place to the amp. what does the scsi does?

As the saying goes......you learn something new everyday.
I have never seen this machine before, it looks like a nice little unit.

sorry

did a search on musicians friend, and it comes up with the scsi adaptor only, didnt find it on fostex home page either, sorry again bad day