MR-8 mixdown questions

nicarp

Hi folks,

I'm new to all this, and a bit of an idiot to boot...

I have an MR-8. I've had good luck recording tracks and am ready to mix down. My two big questions are: 1) Whether it's possible to really mixdown--as in moving faders, etc.--from tracks 1-4 to tracks 7 and 8, or if I can only fix the 1-4 levels and then just let it run at those fixed levels while bouncing to 7 and 8; and 2) If I wanted to mix down onto a digital deck and then upload to my PC so I can burn CDs of the data, what digital format should I use and what do I need to look for in it? I don't think Mini Disc allows me to upload--does DAT? Any other ideas for this sort of scenario?

Thanks to anyone who can help! I just want to get good mixes of the tracks I've recorded and then onto a CD!

Nic

i'm not sure i totally understand your question...

as to part two
when you leave the MR-8, you have two choices in keeping a DIGITAL signal. You can use the S/PDIF connector and output the audio stream to the (2 track stereo) media of your choice, whether it be mini disk or directly to CD. Or, you can export the WAVE files via wave manager program into a PC for further processing.

I export directly to CD, so i dont do the bounce thing. but the fader level will affect what is bounced, so you have cotrol of all six channels when you bounce via the channel faders.

hope this helps

rm

In doing a mixdown on the MR8 you should rehearse it. In other words play the song and see what track needs to go up here or what track needs to go down there. Before I started transferring everything to my pc via USB using wavmanager, I would play a song numerous times and get my fader movements down to make sure everything was balanced before I actually did the mixdown.