Mould

traininvain

Hello friends, advance apologies for my intense newbieness.

I’m researching converting my garage into a soundproofed studio, as I’m finally about to move into a house with a garage! The dream! London was cramped.

I’m a guitarist and am keen to have somewhere to crank the amp. It doesn’t need to be professional quality, I just don’t want to upset the neighbours.

I can’t do anything structural, I’d like to turn the garage back into a garage when I sell again. Unfortunately more people are car owners then guitar owners. Deeply frustrating on many levels.

I plan to sandwich some acoustic plasterboard either side of vinyl soundproofing mat, maybe allow myself couple of screws into the wall for each panel so it doesn’t fall over. Some rugs on the floor, maybe another layer of acoustic foam backed onto a third plasterboard to airgap if I still have room.

I have a couple of questions I’d be really keen to get your opinions on:

1. What should I do for the ceiling?

This weight of plasterboard probably won’t stay on the ceiling easily. Are there common ceiling options?

2. How do you stop mould?

Completely removing airflow will probably give me mould problems. I’ve hired quite a few practice studios that needed floorstanding dehumidifiers. Are there common tips to stop mould in sealed/soundproofed rooms?

Thank you in advance for any help you can give!

How much money do you have and how are your building skills?