MOTU 24i

Richie Basic

Hey there. I'm new to this message board, but I've read it a bit and people here seem pretty cool, so I'm not too weirded out to ask for advice.
OK, I've got this MOTU 24i hooked up to Cubase. The 24i only has 2 outs, so I'm doing all my mixing on cubase (so far so good), but, for going in to the 24i, I need mic pre-amps (right now I'm using the mixer from my old 8 track, which limits me to recording 8 tracks at a time). My question is, is there a good multi channel pre-amp i can use with the 24i? (I feel like I don't need a real busy mixer since I'm mixing down on Cubase anyway.) Any advice? Am I even making any sense? Thanks.

What is the max number of channels you think that you would record at one time? For the price of buying multiple mic-pre's, you may whant to look into getting a 24 channel board with balanced direct outs.

I think I prolly wouldn't do more than 16 at a time, but you never know...i like to keep my options open. Is there a relatively inexpensive 24 channel board you know of? I'm looking at the Mackie 1604 and alesis32 right now (which are 16 channel, i know, but i'm not opposed to springing for a 24 channel if it's possible).

Of the two boards you mentioned, I would go with the Alesis 32 because it has 16 Direct Outs. The other board has only 8. If you want to look into a 24 Channel board, I would look into a 24 Channel Mackie although a new one will run you over $2,000.

Thanks for the input. I found a (new) 24 channel Mackie for about $1300 with 24 direct outs, so I think I'll try to pick that us as soon as I get the bix together. thanks for your help.