monotone voice

ridl

I have no singing experience and am going to be singing for a punk band (not true singing). My voice is extremely monotone (my dad even jokes with me and talks like a robot). My question is this: are there ways for me to exemplify the dynamics in my voice, or should I just learn to make my voice sound as good as it can with what I have?

Most likely that's simply a speech habit pattern rather than anything "wrong" with your voice.
One thing that'll help is to practice speaking into a tape or digital recorder, then playing it back.
Learning to imitate other voices is a fun exercise as long as you don't "force" your voice, keep it comfortable, and within (a small) range.
As always, personal voice lessons with a good teacher is best.

Be careful with the punk singing though, yelling and screaming WILL damage your vocal cords over time.
Better to raise the mike's volume. :)

Chris

I can imitate voices pretty well (in my opinion), but I never trust my voice to my own ears. Thanks for the advice, I'll try the voice tests. I'm not gonna be screaming (much) and when I do I'm gonna just distort my voice--I can barely talk for a long time w/o hurting my throat, so it'd wreak havok to scream.

I know you can sound different when you aren't smiling and you are....

Well you can over the phone and I think it comes across in singing... also depends on your mood at the time.

Porter

yeah -smiling makes your voice sound like crap. You want to keep the corners of your mouth closer together.

And dont orry about the monotone voice....Crash test dummies made it

I don't intend on smiling while singing anyways...sounds like a waste. If I'm paying attention to a singer I want to see them doing everything in their power to do their performance how they want it as opposed to making it 'look good'.

yeah -smiling makes your voice sound like crap. You want to keep the corners of your mouth closer together.