Monitors - When is it worth it?

seansigep

I am a noob, dont do any serious stuff ever, but I was wondering. When is it worth it to invest in monitors. I've seen monitors for 99.99 per pair, and I know they just go up from there (as does everything in music equipment). I mean, would it be worth it to buy a $200 pair of monitors, or is the increase in quality from bookshelf speakers going to be so minute that the $200 dollars spent will be a waste? I've heard good things about some $300 monitors, but there are also alot of things you can buy with $300.

So for my situation, which is just hobby stuff (but I want it to sound good and professional) would it be worth it to invest money in monitors, or would it be worth it to invest the $300 in something else. My gear list is below.

You can also listen to some of my mixes at www.soundclick.com/seanscogin
They were all recorded and mixed with the gear shown below.

I dunno, my birthday was a couple days ago, and i got a chunk of change, and its burning a hole in my pocket.

Hobby stuff will never equal sounding good and pro. You can try and try, but experienced ears will always know.

If you are just screwing around, get cheap ones. If money is burning a hole in your pocket, invest it.

very good job. your newest is showing imporvement too, nice.
i listened a few times and could almost think of a couple different arrangements, good tune and recording.

your a trip dewd...Pulidos...hahaha...Pulidos & Punk Rock.

One's monitors and listening enviroment are second only to one's own ear in importance in the production chain, so a good set of monitors can make all the difference in the world in one's mixes.