monitors and sound card

monkeylove17

anyone have any recommendations for a good sound card and monitor speakers? Products in different proce ranges would be helpful. Thanks.

Thanks for replying. I am going to attempt to answer your questions. I am completely new at this, so i don't know all the terminology you used. First of all, I have Cakewalk Home Studio 9, but am thinking about upgrading to Pro Audio 9, since i am getting more serious about home recording. I need to be able to record and play back audio and midi. After that, you lost me. If by optical, you mean video, i don't need to do any of that. I think simultaneous ins and outs deals with how many tracks you can record at once. If it does, I think i only need one. Do 6 drum mics account for 1 track? Umm, yes, i have a 12 channel mackie mixer. I think the 16/44.1k would be fine. Other than that, in the "Cakewalk Power" book, it mentioned a whole lot of "desireable" features. I don't know what these features do to the price, but i would be interested to find out. The book mentioned: DirectX, digital inputs and outputs, 1/4, RCA, or XLR jacks, balanced connections, full-duplex capabilities, signal to noise ratio, frequency response, wavetable synthesis, and GM, GS, and XG formats for MIDI. I can probably spend up to $400 on it, and would like to get the best card for the money, whatever that is. About the speakers, I have a cd i know inside and out, but from what i've read, they aren't supposed to sound great, like a stereo system. If they aren't supposed to sound good, what should i listen for? Thanks. Your help is much appreciated.