Modern Metal Guitar Tone - (w/ sample)

amra

Ok, I being a guitarist I have my own favorite guitar tone, that I am (periodically) happy with. I like to think I am pretty good at getting some nice heavy guitar tones.

But sometimes I get bands in here that I know are looking for a certain type of modern metal sound, and I've never really been able to nail the exact sound with a real amp, tube or otherwise. I can get heavy all day long, but it doesn't have that "Sizzle" or modern sounding bite to it.

What kind of post production stuff can you hear on this sample? I hear an almost MP3/Audio streaming type compression on the guitar, that you don't really hear on the other instruments. Those in the know, break it down for me. Let's assume we've got a good sounding amp. Let's assume we've got good mic placement with a good mic.

From the mic back, what kind of stuff is on this guitar track?

I don't think that was what he was looking for...

To the OP, I can't help you, sorry. To anybody else, I'd be glad to hear your answers. I'm after that kind of guitar tone myself.

Sorry guys, I guess I should have been more specific. The clip I posted is an example of a modern metal guitar tone from a major label release. I am trying to figure out what kind of post production stuff was done to the guitar track on it...

I don't know Amra, I think that a tone like that is still mostly just dependant on good tracking rather than any post production techniques. I've heard some similarly great tones from dudes who supposedly don't process the guitars save for maybe a bit of EQ.

Do you ever check out the Andy Sneap forum?

http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/andy-sneap-151/

Alot of guitar tone talk going on there.

I was up against 3 persistent obstacles when it came to getting a good modern sound (not that I can get it now...but I'm closer).