Mod my strat? Lefty needs help!

flat1ine

Hi all!

Quick question for ya. Guitar-wise, I'm a lefty, so my collection is limited - it's hard to find anything decent that i like that i can justify buying.

I'm looking for a different electric sound. I've been playing a Mexican Made Strat for the past 12 years, and it's not cutting it for me anymore. It's getting noisy, I'm getting tired of it, and I want a different sound.

My question is this: I've got a nice pair of humbuckers from an old project (Seymour Duncan '59 and Duncan Custom) - should i buy a new pickguard and re-wire my strat with them, or should i buy something cheap from Rondo like this, this or this, and toss my pickups in there?

Or is there an easier option, short of shelling out tons of loot for a brand name?

Before I get flamed on wanting to go cheap, I'm nothing more than a hobbyist, I'm a fairly poor guitarist, and I've left aspirations of greatness (an mediocrity) behind long ago. I do this for my own sole enjoyment, so I'm really not looking for expensive solutions, nor do I need a great guitar.

The way I figure it, if i can deal with a poor quality Mexican strat for more than a decade, I don't need a massive step up in quality.

I'm looking for something functional, different and affordable.

Thanks guys!
- Erik

I'd do an electronic upgrade on the Mexi-strat rather than buy a $150 guitar. Lots of people say bad things about the Mexican made stuff, but I've never noticed these same issues and I've played many of these over the past few years. As far as I know, the Mexi's use different body woods, the cheap electronics, and don't come "set up" from the factory (not that I'm sure if the American series are *really* set up all that well either.) Oh, and they're made by Mexicans. As far as I'm concerned, American workers are NO better than Mexicans, they just have a better parts bin to pull from, and are paid more.