Mixing With Real Faders on PC ?

kesterdevine

Warning: I'm a total newbie to PC recording. But, I've been doing some research on how to put together my PC recording rig to include mixing with real faders.

I know that there are many different ways to achieve this, but it's all very confusing to me.

I'm hoping some of you who mix on PC this way will share your set-up with me, so, that I can factor in other's experiences/gear into my research.

Or do you know of any articles that address this topic?

I have a pretty decent computer, and will be looking for a good interface that will allow for at least 8 simultaneous in's. Other than that I'm very confused about how to integrate a "real" mixer into the picture.

My budget is fairly limited, so i'd like to get up and running for under $1000. At first, I thought the Roland Studio Pack Pro might work for me, but now I have my doubts.

Any and all suggestions are very much appreciated.

Thanks,
Kester

kesterdevine said:
I've been doing some research on how to put together my PC recording rig to include mixing with real faders.

interface that will allow for at least 8 simultaneous in's. Other than that I'm very confused about how to integrate a "real" mixer into the picture.

My budget is fairly limited, so i'd like to get up and running for under $1000.

Thanks,
Kester

Hello Kester and welcome

I asume you mean by "real mixing using faders" you mean routing seperate channels back from your PC to an external mixer on mixdown.

You say you need at least 8 inputs. Why? What exactly will you be recording? The reason I ask is many home recording artists lay songs down one track at a time and there are a lot of good soundcards out there that offer 2 inputs and multiple outputs. An 8 input card is going to eat well into your budget.